Why is Windows 10 crashing certain programs?

• Thread starter Windows Central Question
  • Start date
W

Windows Central Question

So, my problem is quite simple.
Ginger spell checker
Aim 7
These two programs will open and then close.
Aim does it when I log onto my profile.
Ginger doesn't even pop up, it will say either one opens in my notify box. Then they will close without much reason.

Aim, I don't like the current version of aim so I use 7. Though, I will state this swapping to the current one doesn't have this issue. I would just like to use my older one.

Now an answer to this problem was regressing back to an older build. Though, I keep being forced to update. Hence, why I can tell the problem is the latest update for windows 10.

If there any actual fix to stop these two programs from crashing. Help will be grand. I'm a slight novice at computer stuff, so simple details on fixes would be nice.

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I would try a couple things.

1. Running in compatibility mode perhaps. (it's use is well documented elsewhere on the net)

2. reinstalling the offending programs if you haven't already and have the ability to do it.

3. sfc /scannow in case Windows 10 has some under the hood issues. (searching sfc scannow will bring up all you probably need to know for now)

Angelx911

Dec 31, 2015
Visit site
This also started happening to me yesterday after I did a Windows Update.

It doesn't crash if you just start AIM 7, but if you login it just cuts off.
I would try a couple things.

1. Running in compatibility mode perhaps. (it's use is well documented elsewhere on the net)

2. reinstalling the offending programs if you haven't already and have the ability to do it.

3. sfc /scannow in case Windows 10 has some under the hood issues. (searching sfc scannow will bring up all you probably need to know for now)

Tried all of these, still happening.

Echocan

Dec 31, 2015
Visit site