Where to talk about my app?

groovejumper

Apr 3, 2012
Visit site
I wrote an app, I'd love to ask for folks to try it out, send feedback, etc. Where should I do that? (that's kind of a broad question, I know) - there's actually two questions in there:

1. Which forum on WPCentral is the right one to invite people to try it and give feedback?

2. Where else can I promote my app like this (i.e. informally, not spammy-like)

g.

groovejumper

Apr 3, 2012
Visit site
Oh - cool - didn't expect that - haven't even said anything about it yet :cool:

Here's my story - I've been a developer for many years (PC-based), but have wanted to get into mobile development for a while, on the side, just to learn about it.

I used iThings for a number of years but found Objective C to be, well, objectionable....

So, after getting a Lumia 900 in April, I figured it was time to get my feet wet, since I already code in the MS stack it wasn't a huge leap.

Had an idea, proved to be too big to start. Started trying to come up with something smaller and simpler.

For a while, I was using an app I found in the Marketplace to set timers, mostly for cooking, barbequeing, etc, but also for many other tasks where I found it helpful to set a time, go do something else, and have it alert me when the time was done.

Often I'd have multiple timers going at the same time, and the app I was using had 3 available. From time to time, I found that 3 wasn't enough, but I found ways to get done what I needed to, so no big deal.

Then that app developer did something low... I mean, reprehensible. In the free/ad-supported version, he put large buttons over the 2nd two timers that said "click here to buy the full version, and unlock more timers". So basically, he gave away 3 timers, then crippled the app to push sales. I totally understand wanting to monetize, but to me, that's NOT the way to do it.

So my idea was clear...