Encrypt

DBDev

Jan 13, 2012
Visit site
Hi!

Is it possible to encrypt data in a WP app using C# and then be able to save the encrypted data to Skydrive to be decrypted in a windows desktop program?

I want to create a password saving app that can sync to the PC but I am no expert when it comes to encryption/decryption ;) The methods I have found seems to encrypt the data using some kind of number from the phone which means that only that phone can decrypt the data. That will not work in my case.

hopmedic

Apr 27, 2011
Visit site
Yes - I just answered on your other post. Give @gcaughey (Ginny Caughey) a shout on twitter. She does it in Password Padlock. I'm sure she'll point you in the right direction - IIRC she's a WP MVP.

SOMEnameItried

Dec 6, 2012
Visit site
Yeah, you'd just need to make sure both places (app and desktop) have the same key.

If you think about it, this has been happening already and quite a while, It's not really encryption, but just ways to compress files like media.

Anyway, yes. It is do-able. For C# I think you get more options if you use .NET 4.5 Framework. They have more SHA options in there.

SOMEnameItried

Dec 6, 2012
Visit site
Yes I do, but I thought you wanted advice on the direction to go.

Anyway, here is someone's post on the subject to help you out. This practice still works today, and if you abstract these items, supply interfaces, and unit test them, I'm sure it'll make building it even easier for you.

C# Encryption

Cheers,
Kelly

SOMEnameItried

Dec 6, 2012
Visit site
You're welcome!