Developers of InPic reverse engineering/copying codes from Instance and #2InstaWithMassiveLove

LastBattle

May 26, 2012
Visit site
I just want to rant out my concerns, as I've made a discovery today regarding InPic's (Applify) shady practices during the production of the application. As a developer myself, this is totally unacceptable as they were one of the reputable developer around. I couldn't believe it myself as they have released a high quality YouTube app on the Windows 8 store, PrimeTube.

I've been developing on an Instagram client since July 2013 when Instagraph was released to Windows Phone. That was #2InstaWithMassiveLove.
Sure, #2InstaWithMassiveLove was not as fully featured as Instance or 6tag. However, I worked hard day and night focusing on Windows Phone 7 users exclusively. I'm well aware that it didn't get as much attention as Instance or 6tag since they were leaps and bounds better on its first release. That's fine, I kept my promise and kept updating the app as much as I can despite the tight schedule with school.

However, what's frustrating is how much attention the newly released InPic got from WPCentral, & WMPoweruser on its first release. Even recently, when they got reposting of photos when it have been on mine for months. InPic updated with multiple account support and the ability to repost Instagram photos | Windows Phone Central
Fine, I live with it and continue focusing on WP7.

That's until today that I've come to a conclusion on how much InPic was following on my recent updates. For instance, I released notifications around a month ago and 1 week later. It was released for InPic too! Just 2 weeks ago, they've even implemented reposting of photos that raised my suspicion. I've decided to take a look at their Windows 8 code only to confirm what I thought to be.
They are simply copy pasting code right off the reverse engineered version of my .XAP file for their own purpose without asking.