Windows Phone 9 Questions

Vectraat

Mar 2, 2013
Visit site
So I'm a little confused about what this means for people with Windows Phone 8 devices.

1.) I was looking into getting the Lumia 920, but is that a bad idea being that WP9 is now being tested?

2.) Will you be able to upgrade WP8 to WP9?

3.) I'm still learning about Windows Phone, and from what I understand certain applications that were made for Windows Phone 7/7.5 don't work for Windows Phone 8? I wonder if
the same will be true of WP8/9?

4.) Any idea when WP9 will be launched? I would assume it'll be launched with newer Windows Phones mid/late this year?

This is really confusing to the consumer...

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
Microsoft has "promised" we should not see another WP7-WP8 situation again.

Not true. MS has promised only that WP8 will receive OS updates for 18 months. I don't know what exactly MS plans to call WP9, but whatever happens, WP8 support duration expires about one year from now.

Vectraat

Mar 2, 2013
Visit site
So what is that "situation"
Can you elaborate?

And the other questions?

I'm trying to figure out if I want to invest in this platform. I really love the UI, but if I'm going to get screwed then no thanks.

ttsoldier

Retired Ambassador
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
So I'm a little confused about what this means for people with Windows Phone 8 devices.

1.) I was looking into getting the Lumia 920, but is that a bad idea being that WP9 is now being tested?

2.) Will you be able to upgrade WP8 to WP9?

3.) I'm still learning about Windows Phone, and from what I understand certain applications that were made for Windows Phone 7/7.5 don't work for Windows Phone 8? I wonder if
the same will be true of WP8/9?

4.) Any idea when WP9 will be launched? I would assume it'll be launched with newer Windows Phones mid/late this year?

This is really confusing to the consumer...

1)No
2)Yes
3)No
4)Correct

stmav

Retired Moderator
Sep 18, 2012
Visit site