Microsoft May Unify Windows Phone and Windows RT, Develop New User Interface

eugie

Jul 31, 2013
Visit site
I think it's great that Microsoft wants to be able to run any app in all three ecosystems....i don't give up my wp...😊😊😊

crash1989

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
As a developer I want that more than anything. It will change the experience a lot since I could basically develop one app (with tweaks for diff OSes) for Win Phone, Win 8 , XBox and any devices that support Modern UI. Exciting times. I also want MSFT to develop Office touch which seems to be in development as the rumors suggest. Seems that they want to get rid of the desktop

Pacus1x

Jun 25, 2013
Visit site
A more tight ecosystem is more than required, maybe is one of the reasons that stop people buying RT tablets because investing so much on your Windows Phone and none of that you see on your RT tablet, no good that's for sure. And the app count would go up in an unique system than a separate ecosystem, so finally will stop people saying WP o RT "no appzzz no gamezzz"

anony_mouse

Banned
Aug 10, 2013
Visit site
Seems that they want to get rid of the desktop

I think that could be the worst business decision of all time (worse even than IBM circa 1982).
MS marketshare in smart phones: <5%
MS marketshare in tablets: <5%
MS marketshare in laptops/desktops: >90%

I think I can say with some confidence that Microsoft will not get rid of the desktop.

fwaits

Mar 9, 2008
Visit site
MS wants to get it down to Windows (WP/RT/Xbox) and Windows Pro (Full Win w/Desktop + Modern UI) that way you have 1 store to rule them all, develop once, access all (With exception of traditional Desktop apps), and maximize service ambiguity across all devices so they work as seamless as possible. At least that's what I hope.

dznk

Sep 6, 2013
Visit site
Unifying them would be great. It would boost the number of apps and in the process the number of people using WP. The sooner they do it the better.