Help Me Choose My Tablet - Thinkpad Tablet 2, Vivotab, Acer W700, Etc.

wokaz80

Dec 7, 2012
Visit site
hi guys i really want to try a windows 8 tablet and i plan to buy it either by the end of this month or by next January. I am confused on what to pick though

First of all, the reason why I want a windows 8 tablet IS because i like the interface. but more importantly, i need metatrader and cTrader in legacy app as im a full time forex trader. I have metatrader in my iphone but you cant seriously compare that with the windows version (no tabbing, no lines drawing, no fibonacci, etc.). cTrader doesnt even exist there.

im looking to replace my macbook pro (which btw i also installed windows 8 on it through parallels virtual desktop) with a windows 8 tablet to support my trading while im outside

So basically I dont need a super i7 tablet or something. However, im curious to know how windows 8 atom tablets perform. I have seen enough reviews and some people says atom tablets perform badly in legacy apps. Question is, how bad is that bad? Does it lag so bad even though i dont need to run heavy apps like adobe? I only need to run these trading apps which btw are very light. You can compare them with MS paint i believe, just with constant connection.

would it do well in atom tablets? I dont want lags when i switch from win8 native apps to metatrader and cTrader.

next question - how does windows 8 tablet on-screen keyboard work with legacy apps? Would i have special gesture to show up the on-screen keyboard or it automatically appears when i touch the screen? I personally dont believe i would need a physical keyboard if the on-screen keyboard always show up at the right time (my biggest fear is that it won't show up when i supposed to type in legacy apps)

at the moment, here are what I currently want and my doubts about them: