Anyone here have hands on with the W700?
    01-25-2013 07:06 PM
    I personally don't own one but I do sell computers so I have used it first hand and its one of my favorite tablets to recommend. It has a great solid aluminum build quality, fantastic 1080p screen, and a decent 6 hour battery life as most reviews claim. My only gripe is the dock is a little chintzy, cheap feeling and so is the Bluetooth keyboard, but the case that it comes with is nice. Its also nice that it has a usb 3.0 port on it as well. My major issue with it and why I didn't get it is because its an i3, there's nothing wrong with the core series except for the fact that they don't get good battery life, I mean this is one of the core tablets with a longer battery life, most of them get around 5 hours. I personally bought a tablet with an atom and mine gets around 8 hours and is thin and light with no fan. The i3/i5/i7 tablets need fans so I feel that they are rather big and bulky, this one being the case. Its not hugely heavy or anything but I'm retty sure its a good 2.5-3 lbs and feels significantly heavier than say, an ipad.
    01-28-2013 11:18 AM
    I'm getting the i5 I think.... But its really between this and the surface pro. I'm really torn.
    01-28-2013 12:29 PM
    I have the Acer Iconia W700 and the Surface RT. I plan to pick up the Surface Pro. Here's my quick take on the W700:

+ Battery Life is good. It lasts all evening after I get home from work.
    + The W700 is fast. It scores as fast as comparable ultrabooks, minus the 3d graphics performance of course
    + Comes with a nice flip case
    + Best intel based, 11.6" windows 8 tablet currently available (the ATIV Smart PC has quality issues so I returned it, plus it's mad expensive)

- I think all first gen Windows 8 Tablets need a keyboard and mouse (dock or touch cover) due to the lack of touch friendly apps
    - The included keyboard doesn't include a trackpad. You will need to buy a mouse.