Really, why does Dell suck so bad?

billyboyblue

Jan 22, 2016
Visit site
So , I've recently decided to buy directly from dell, this is my first time ever owning a dell product, so I figured i'd give it a try. However, it's now been three weeks, and, well... I still dont' have anything :\ I've outlined some of the problems I've been facing.

• They don't stock computers, and build everything to order? What?!
  • Their live chat really only works if the workers are in the mood to work
  • Most of the accessories on the site are either not in stock, or can't be ordered
  • I ordered an XPS 12 on the 3rd, the shipping date has been changed twice, and it's supposed to be here this thursday
  • Their products are generally, just not as good compared to competitors
  • They seem to be focused on the business or bulk purchases
  • The website is extremely unintuitive
  • Sometimes when I log in, it sends me to the business accounts, and sometimes it shows my personal account
  • Each order has it's own customer number, so my account doesn't show all of my orders ( about 5 ), so I have to hunt them down individualy in order to find what status they are in.
  • Dell only uses two statuses now, production, and shipped, other companies give considerably more detail, what gives?

Is this just a one time experience ? I tried out the Inspiron 7000 series 2-in-1 just to see if i liked it, as that was the only thing i could find that they had available to ship the next day, figured it give it a try while i waited on my xps 12. It was a very unpleasant experience. The thing has bezels on the bottom the size of a small baby. Has dell decided to do away with consumer support / sales all together over the last year or so ? In exchange, focus on bulk orders / business ?

skstrials

Oct 5, 2013
Visit site
I disagree.

Dell's certified refurbished products are very cheap, AND come with a full factory warranty.

I own 3 Dell products and have recommended one to my gf and my mom.