What if MS kept investing on the WM6.x?

diego3336

Dec 6, 2010
Visit site
Well, I just realized that I've been using Windows phones for the past 10 years, starting with a MotoQ running the WM6.1, then I bought a LG E900 at WP7's launch, and then a L920 at WP8's launch and replaced it with a L930 when it was launched, and this is the phone I still use, and with the current 'climate' regarding the (lack of) future of the platform, some things came to my mind.

I still remember how painful limited the WP7 was at the launch, not doing things that even de cheapest feature phones of those days did, like custom ringtones, for example. The WM6.1 had its problems and bugs, for sure, but it was as complete in terms of resources and features as a phone could be in 2006/07, it wasn't the easiest thing to use, but neither the Symbian were. Despite how beautiful, fluid and "modern" the WP7 was compared to the WM6.x, I always felt that the WM6.x would have a better chance compared to Android than the WP7, and after I played with a HTC G1 a few weeks ago, now I am sure it would be better if MS kept doing mobile OS the way they did on WM6's days.

These first-gen Androids were way worse than the WinMo in pretty much everything. It was uglier, unresponsive, buggy, crashes and random reboots everytime and with less features, but we all know what made the Android what is today, despite being "free": it was how customizable it was, just the way the good ol' WinMo was, and OEMs like HTC, Samsung and Motorola were doing they questionable "skins" on the WinMo already, and basically just ported those skins to the Android when MS phased-out the WinMo and replaced it with the utter limited and "uncustomizable" WP7.