Welcome to the Windows Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Mystictrust

Global Posts
    258 Global Posts
    Went to the store and they said the computer won't allow them.

Talked to a rep on the phone who supposedly asked his supervisor, and the supervisor said they no longer have the ability to do that anymore

Before i keep wasting my time talking to new sales reps, is it at all possible to keep my $19.95 grandfathered blackberry BIS/BES addon data plan and still be allowed to upgrade my phone?

I'm off contract so i do have some leverage, but i'm afraid if i threaten to cancel and they call my bluff, i'm going to lose my plan either way!

Thank you

You should be. I have zero experience with Blackberry BIS and using other devices, but it definitely can be done. Those of us with grandfathered plans just lose the ability to talk to people in the store or regular customer service reps. Oh, and when you talk to loyalty, you never have to threaten to cancel - I never have. I'll repost what I posted in the Lumia 810 forum to someone else with the same issue...

Quote Originally Posted by Mystictrust View Post
    I'm really sorry to hear about that :(

Here's a tip though: Call retentions. Dial 611, say "Cancel service" and the tell the next rep you speak to that you want to upgrade your phone but stay on your same plan and not change a thing. They can do it for you.

The very last time I made some account changes and lowered some prices a bit, I was told by the retentions/cancellation rep at the time (I know who to talk to when I need my grandfathered plan serviced) that I will have problems in the store and that I will probably need to call "someone like him" (a.k.a. save loyalty/retentions).