Custom case project for my TMO 8X

gibbage

Sep 14, 2012
Visit site
Just a little background about me. Im a 3D artist and have done many productions including games, TV, and movies. One of the side things I have been playing with recently is 3D printing. I even designed and printed a ring for my wife. You can see my portfolio at www.gibbageart.com, and yes, my resume has lots of entry's from Microsoft, but im not involved in WP7/8.

I decided to try and make my own case for my new 8x using 3D printing! Why? Because all the available cases out there cover the the great design, and quite frakly, the surface of the 8x is picking up a LOT of scuffs and marks already. It seems the surface is rather soft and easy to damage.

What I want to do, is create a VERY minimal case design and let the color and design of the phone show through, while protecting the corners and surface from damage. My concept was born from watching the recent "Spiderman" movie. I was inspired not by his suit, but the webbing itself. The case will have 4 "bumpers" on each corner, connected by "webs" to each other, avoiding covering specific area's like buttons, camera holes, ports and so on. I highly doubt this is a new concept, and I think I have seen something similar on 3D printed iPhone cases, but the geomitry on the iPhone is AMAZINGLY simple. The 8x has some really nasty curvs.

First step in this process is to make an accurate 3D model of the phone itself, so I can build on top of the virtual phone. If the virtual phone is accurate, and it fits the virtual phone, it "should" fit the real phone. Thats my current problem. I really dont have any accurate measuring instruments for this sort of work!!! Right now, im using my eye, photo's and measurements found on the web. This should be enough to get a proof of concept, and I have the first model done. Here it is.

htc_8x_case_01.jpghtc_8x_case_02.jpg