Phone getting dirty

chris7191

Nov 23, 2012
Visit site
Seems a bit odd and regular to be pocket dirt/dye transfer if you ask me. Especially the lines down the back on the one posted earlier in the thread.

LCM = Liquid Crystal Module

Seems plausible but the fluid would have to penetrate the polycarbonate beneath the coating to show.

strokee

Oct 23, 2012
Visit site
Seems a bit odd and regular to be pocket dirt/dye transfer if you ask me. Especially the lines down the back on the one posted earlier in the thread. LCM = Liquid Crystal Module Seems plausible but the fluid would have to penetrate the polycarbonate beneath the coating to show.
I am far from an expert, but there is no way any liquid from inside the phone is causing the staining. What's happening is that the soft touch coating is coming in contact with something(s) exterior. The soft touch coating was a bad idea for a cell phone. It WILL wear out in places, and rather quickly. It was a worse idea than Apple deciding to paint andonized aluminum on the iPhone 5. It will look crappy in weeks/months.

chris7191

Nov 23, 2012
Visit site
I have an HTC Trophy which has soft touch coating and has been remarkably durable for 1.5 years. Not a single scratch or mark on it, does not hold on to dirt either.

baygacon

Nov 21, 2012
Visit site
It would be interesting to know how many of you bought yours around launch day versus how many of you bought yours within say the last week or so.

I bought mine as soon as it was released (import from UK) and I believe it's from the first batch. At least the corners aren't getting any blacker :/

morpheus1982

Oct 5, 2012
Visit site
Folks...alcohol based hand sanitizer gel and clothe helped clean up my corners quite well. If i could be bothered right now i would keep going.

It just cuts through the grime to restore the blue colour.

Alan Wake

Nov 26, 2012
Visit site