VLC Media Player and VLC for Windows Phone 8

cram_it_2000

Jan 21, 2013
Visit site
Ok, so I'm new to using VLC player and so far I am very impressed with its capabilities for streaming content to my phone, although I'm disappointed with the lack of support or tutorials as to how one is supposed to go about setting it up to do it. Here's the gist of it, after my brother and I have wrestled with both the player on my PC (win7ultimate) and the app on my phone we managed to get it to stream no problem while connected locally via WiFi. Actually, I had troubles with my Internet Security's (Total Defense) firewall as it kept blocking my phone regardless of the fact that I created a rule that was supposed to open the appropriate ports to allow access to my PC.

Anyways, the real issue I'm having now is the fact that when I turn WiFi "off" on my phone, and try to connect to VLC using my router's internet IP address (with appropriate ports being forwarded to my PC) and the appropriate port, my phone still appears to be blocked. I even try to access the web interface using the phone's internet browser, which I can access if I'm connected locally to the network, but I get the following "ERROR: HTTP 403 Forbidden" page. The phone seems to be blocked either by the router's firewall or the PC's firewall. Also note, apps like "Connect Me" used for remote desktop connections are fully functional and working without a problem both via local WiFi connection and remote 4G connection, albeit using a different port...

I have posted on VideoLan's forum about this, and the topic had quite a few views but no replies... I'm hoping someone has had some experience with this app and the VLC player as well on their PC to lend a hand.

Thanks to anyone who has some tips for me in advance! :smile:

bradbamford

Oct 29, 2012
Visit site
403 means you reached the server, but it is refusing to serve the page to you. Are your server settings set to only serve to local IPs?