New WP8 user

GraemeT

Jan 7, 2013
Visit site
Hi all,

It's good to be onboard. A bit about myself. Reasonably tech-savy. RF test engineer by trade (and flight instructor in a parallel existence). Spent the last eight years writing automatic test programs in LabVIEW. Why am I here? Well, I've recently bought a Nokia Lumia 820 (and love it - stonking phone!). However, the only other mobile phone I've ever had was a Nokia 9500 Communicator, which died recently. You can see I'm on one heck of a steep learning curve here, so I've been looking at places to get help and advice. Of all the WP8 resources I found, WPCentral looked the most attractive and the Introductions seemed a great idea and very welcoming. Why did I buy Nokia? For all their woes I think they still make great hardware. Why the 820? I wanted WP8 and the 920 was a bit too bulky for my liking. Also, I'm not into taking photographs particularly so the 920's camera would have been wasted on me. Why WP8? I don't like following the crowd. WP8 looked different, fresh, exciting and I think it has enormous potential. I'm not bothered about all that market share stuff. In addition, frustrating as they can be at times, Microsoft have always done me okay all my computing life. I should add, though, I don't really do social networking so I guess my tiles probably aren't going to be that live.