New to Windows Phone

SpiritLink

Dec 13, 2014
Visit site
Hello everyone. I'm new to Windows Phone as well as these forums. I came here to check out the community as well as get some information to help me learn the ins and outs of Windows Phone.

I have a problem with my iPhone 6 Plus that requires me to send it to Apple for repairs. Instead of using an old phone I decided to finally test out a Windows Phone since I've wanted to for a while now. I went with the HTC One M8 since I heard a lot of good stuff about HTC from some Android friends. Also I liked the IR blaster and the front boom speakers.

Anyways almost a week in I'm already 90% sure I will be switching to this full time. I will just keep my iPhone 6 Plus as a backup incase this phone has an issue in the future. I absolutely love almost everything about Windows Phone and I'm completely shocked at why it's so unpopular. I've always heard it's because of the apps. While I don't use tons and tons of apps, I have about 15 core apps that are must haves. Windows Phone has all but one. That app is Google Maps. I know there are other options, but I'm not sure which ones are good. Also I don't think any have street view.

All that said, I do have a couple questions. How do you get the battery percentage to show in a tile? I've seen itin screenshots but can't for the life of me figure out how. The second question is about Cortana. When I use her to set an alarm, I then have to click on that alarm and go in and change the tone to something other than the default because the default one just isn't enough to wake me up. I can't seem to find anything in the sound options to make a permanent choice so I don't do this every time.

Please forgive me if those questions are stupid, I've been using iOS for 4-5 years so this is completely foreign to me and I'm trying to learn everything still.

Muessig

Moderator Team Leader
Sep 30, 2012
Visit site