Late introduction - why I changed from Apple to Microsoft....

Wbutchart1

Feb 20, 2015
Visit site
Hi all, my name is William, I live in Scotland, I am a Pastor of a local Baptist Church.

I am reasonably new here as I began to look again at Microsoft and Windows. For a long time, I had no time for windows, I used it in my younger days (my tower PC had a hole where the discdrive was due to slow laggy software!). I then changed to Ubuntu then to mac. I had my mac, then bought an iPhone and an ipad, and for years I was happy in my overly priced little world.

When called to the church, I was given a dell. This reinforced my views of windows, it was windows 7, it was slow as anything! took around 5 minuets to start up! Then office stopped working, I didn't use it much. However at the same time on the ipad I was noticing the Microsoft apps were very impressive, beginning to use them more than the alternatives. I then began to explore could windows 10 fix the laggy dell. So I installed that and was blown away first by its speed, and then by how well it was working. Windows phone has always fascinated me (unlike Android which just stole ios and then changed its name, windows showed creativity). So when my contract ended I changed to a 535 and have been blown away with how well the thing works.

My perception is that, at this time, in Apple HQ they spend most of their time patting each other on the back for being awesome, but their updates are slow, the new ios is generally buggy, there is an arrogance there. At Microsoft they seem to be working super hard on all fronts, ipad apps get regular updates, they are coding 10, they seem driven and determined to make progress.

My thinking is to replace my ipad with a windows tablet sometime in the future, either the Eve T1 or the Linx 7.

Last edited by a moderator:

jontyfernz

Mar 25, 2015
Visit site
Re: Late introduction - why I chnaged from Apple to Microsoft....