Feedback on Hololens from more than 160 users

Mahdokht Kalantari

Nov 18, 2016
Visit site
I'm a researcher in the field of marketing, and I'm interested in future technology marketing. We have the Hololens in our lab, and we wanted to see how people perceive and experience Augmented Reality, and what it takes for them to adopt this new technology. So, we started a research with more than 150 people who each tried Hololens for the first time for about 10 minutes. We had them use different apps like Holograms, ARails (a simple designing app that lets you create a road, choose different builds for the road, and put different objects on it), Actiongram, Galaxy Explorer, RoboRaid, Fragments, and Young Conker. In the process, I had the chance to work with more than 160 users when they tried Hololens, taught them how to work with it, and heard their feedback afterwards. Now, I'm not a tech-savvy person, so these comments are not very technical, but I thought it would be cool to share what I learned with you guys:
1) Adjustment and fit on the head: To my surprise, we had some people coming in (this happened with ladies mostly) to try it, and no matter how many different adjustments we tried, the Hololens did not fit quite well on their head. There is a certain limit to how much you can make it small, so some people had to hold it with their hands to keep it from falling off.
2) Weight and pressure on the nose: Almost nobody felt 100% comfortable with Hololens. We actually had quite a lot of people describing it as "very uncomfortable". Although everybody enjoyed the experience of using it, most people were kinda relieved when they took it off, and I could see their noses turned red. I think the nose piece can definitely use a more comfortable cushiony thing on it. I myself hold Hololens with one hand to take the pressure off my nose.