Advice please..... whether to upgrade phone plan to a 950 or 950 XL from a Note 3?

m1dawkins

Feb 8, 2016
Visit site
Hi,
I am looking to replace the Note 3 I have been using for the last 2 years and although I have been using Android for the last 4 years I am drawn to moving over to WP even with the lack of apps in the store.
I cannot decide whether to get the 950 or 950 XL and wondered if anyone in the forum has moved from a Note 3 or 4 and which handset they chose and why.
I am siding with the 950 XL at the moment mainly because of the screen size being similar to the Note 3, and the slightly faster processor.
Also I will be getting the phone either as an upgrade on my current plan or on a new plan, will I have to wait for OS updates from the telco (Virgin or Optus) or can I get them from joining the Insider Program?
Apologies if the answers to my questions are already in the forum.
Thanks

Mesbah

Dec 31, 2015
Visit site
Between 950 & 950XL I preferred 950XL and would pick it up even with a larger screen size.
No need to wait for OS update as after last update it already works smoothly.
Better get it now as you will be busy discovering Win 10 desktop communicating with WP.
Also you will be busy selecting apps and do some exercise on each as might be different from those on Android or iPhone.
You better get a 128GB or larger Micro SDXC card and insert right at start so you can configure apps be saved on 32GB device while photos etc be saved on SDXC card. After this stage do not move apps from device to SD or vice versa because they might malfunction and you have to hard reset 950XL which is not a big deal as Win Store remembers all your apps and easily and cleanly you reinstall them.

Also before starting up your phone better clean up your OneDrive cloud so that WP phone can start with a clean OneDrive for back ups etc.:kiss:

sinime

Retired Moderator
Sep 13, 2011
Visit site