Charms Bar concept for WP8

linking1990

Jan 20, 2012
Visit site
Great idea, but tbh the UI can be improved on. Stick more to the Modern (Metro) UI. Consistency is key.

I tried my best to keep this up with the way Windows 8 is. I already said that I am not a designer nor this is an original idea, it's more of an implementation of an existent thing found on another MS product. The one screen to rule them all thing can be done using little steps to unify the look of the different OS's running on different devices (PCs and mobiles).
My design isn't anywhere near perfect, I just wanted to notify others about how this could be really useful to the WP users.

peachy001

Nov 3, 2012
Visit site
Hi linking, thanks for your thoughts.

I picked volume as it already does something already and avoids the conflicts you may get on a web page for example. A long press on one side may bring up the copy and paste or jump to a link.

I may try and mock up my idea once I get home. Fingers crossed I remember how to us MS paint.

linking1990

Jan 20, 2012
Visit site
Hi linking, thanks for your thoughts.

I picked volume as it already does something already and avoids the conflicts you may get on a web page for example. A long press on one side may bring up the copy and paste or jump to a link.

I may try and mock up my idea once I get home. Fingers crossed I remember how to us MS paint.

I am really eager to see that mock up of yours! I really want a movement from MS towards the benefit of the end user by fixing these little things that some of them can be really frustrating at times (toggling Wi-Fi on and off, closing an app, etc..). If this get's any traction ever, something good can come out of it, I hope at least.

Funny to mention the MS paint thing, I used it to do these mock ups completely :p.

BTW, I edited my earlier post, let me know about what you think of that one.

peachy001

Nov 3, 2012
Visit site