Any Surface Dial users in the house?

EuroKnuter

Oct 29, 2012
Visit site
I'm a "legit" user - but I'm not an artist. So my usage isn't nearly as peak as some others' would be. I'm happy to tell you anything I can answer...

EuroKnuter

Oct 29, 2012
Visit site
The single best usage of the dial is scrolling while reading articles in Edge. Much better than the mouse wheel for lots of scrolling. A line or 3 is fine on the mouse wheel but for anything more and for long periods of scrolling (like reading) I much prefer the dial as it works wonderfully for that. Volume in Groove works well too. Brightness and zoom are just kinda "meh..." for me, but other's may have a different opinion. And that's like all there is to it *shrug* It seems like there should be more updates coming for it, especially at the OS level. I would have a hard time recommending spending $100 unless you were a graphical artist or a technology enthusiast who isn't afraid to blow $100 just to see what the new thing is like.

As for where I'd like to see it grow for me to utilize it more; I'm not sure that the two pieces of software I'd like to see coded for it will actually do so in the near future: Native Instruments' Komplete Control (software for use with my MIDI keyboard) and, well, any DAW really, but I'm currently playing with FL Studio 12.

The dial is easy to grab on the left side of my laptop keyboard the way I reach over to my right side for the mouse. And it lends itself nicely to any control that twists (obviously). For the MIDI keyboard and (virtual) studio knobs it would be perfect. Clicking with the mouse and spinning with the dial is WAY better than click-and-hold then slide-up / slide-down to change knob settings using just the mouse (that's basically how those controls are used, yeah =/).