i3 or i5 128 GB for student?

rynoa

Oct 19, 2014
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I'm hoping to get some advice on choosing the right surface pro 3 for me.

I'm a full time student and I want to go paperless with the surface pro. I'm hauling pounds and pounds of notebooks and textbooks around everyday. I have to print pdf notes that profs send out just to annotate them in class. The surface seems to be the only device that can actually really replace a good old pen and paper AND get some work done.
I do have a very good desktop PC at home that will smoke every surface in terms of performance, I'm not looking to replace my desktop.

Since I am a student, I'm obviously also restricted on cash, so the only two feasible options for me are either the i3 or the i5 128 GB, but the i5 is really pushing it.

I will use the surface primarily for school, so I need to take tons of handwritten notes, annotate pdfs (Both at the same time in split screen mode probably), do research online, use MS word, excel etc, run applications like matlab (I do that over a virtual desktop vpn solution, so I don't think it even uses my CPU for calculations). I will probably also install some of the programs I have on my desktop, but I don't expect the same performance. However, I really need the surface to be running smoothly for my school needs.
I'm not looking to store all my pictures, music and whatnot on my surface either, only ebooks, notes, and everything school related.

Do you think the i3 will be sufficient for my needs?

Do you think it could potentially run solidworks and/or AutoCAD? This is optional for me, like I said, I have a desktop. But it would sure be nice if I could open a drawing and make a few changes (I will do the major work at the desktop obviously).

Thank you in advance for your help!

rynoa

gpobernardo

Jan 12, 2013
Visit site
Hello,
Sounds like you're into engineering.:cool: