ummm Why is the Core M3 BETTER than the i5?

Mpip2016

Oct 29, 2015
Visit site
I'm an ex surface pro 3 i5 4gb owner. I absolutely hated the fan noise and all the heat. I ended up selling mine back in December. On Monday, I purchased the i5 4gb pro 4 and guess what... still the same issues so I went back and returned it for the Core M

The Core M SEEEMS faster, runs cooler, not sure about battery life or benchmarking but this is something that is bothering me. How could such a "low end" chip give you a better experience? That doesn't seem right.

ParoleGA

Jul 23, 2013
Visit site
I'm an ex surface pro 3 i5 4gb owner. I absolutely hated the fan noise and all the heat. I ended up selling mine back in December. On Monday, I purchased the i5 4gb pro 4 and guess what... still the same issues so I went back and returned it for the Core M

The Core M SEEEMS faster, runs cooler, not sure about battery life or benchmarking but this is something that is bothering me. How could such a "low end" chip give you a better experience? That doesn't seem right.

There are current bugs that may be contributing to heat and fans running. That aside, an i5 is better than an M3 because it has more computational power, not because it runs cooler. The M3 doesn't need a fan at all, so that should be the first clue the i5 will run warmer and be noisier.

As far as experience; would you rather hang out at a Mensa gathering or a frat party? Low end can often be more fun!

Last edited:

Rebeska

Oct 9, 2015
Visit site
Interesting. I hate the heat. I felt the Surface Pro 3 in the store and it was hot. I dislike the idea of a hot tablet.

snakebitten

Dec 1, 2012
Visit site
I would have bought the M3 intentionally, if it was offered with 8 gigs of Ram.
I am honest with myself about my usage. As analogy, I would use a pickup truck...............

Processor is the engine under the hood (I'm don't need to smoke my tires. A sweet V6 is plenty. No Ecoboost required)