Docking station for Surface from MS?

ninjaap

Dec 10, 2008
Visit site
I have never used a docking station before, so excuse my ignorance.

The set up I was thinking about was getting a Surface Pro and a docking station so I can use it on a larger monitor and keyboard when at home. So my question is, has MS announced or has there been any hints of a docking station specifically for Surface devices? Something that looks cleaner and looks like it was made for the tablet where it would just snap in. If not, I'm probably going to have run wires from the Surface to the docking station to the monitor? Just trying to avoid clutter.

bauerbach

Oct 12, 2012
Visit site
no such announcement, doesn't exist for RT, wouldn't expect it from msft for the pro. maybe someone makes a dock with the appropriate cables properly spaced.

the w700 has a dock I believe though...

jhoff80

Apr 27, 2003
Visit site
It's not happening. The keyboard connects through an I2C serial connection. It's not fast enough for anything more than what it's already used for.

bauerbach

Oct 12, 2012
Visit site
serial port? not sure theres a device with a serial port for a few years :p it does have an HDMI (mini?).

the "dock" would literally need to be a slot with a properly oriented HDMI/USB/power plug that would match the surface. (all the ports are on the same side of the surface)

Not exactly what we understand as a dock, but serves the same general purpose.

jhoff80

Apr 27, 2003
Visit site
it does have an HDMI (mini?).

the "dock" would literally need to be a slot with a properly oriented HDMI/USB/power plug that would match the surface. (all the ports are on the same side of the surface)

No, it has a mini-DisplayPort. And no, the ports are not all on the same side of the Surface Pro. The USB 3.0 port and headphone jack are on the left, and the power and mini-DisplayPort are on the right.

jhoff80

Apr 27, 2003
Visit site