Why I will wait for the next Surface RT

snaqvi91

Nov 10, 2012
Visit site
So I'm a university student and I find the surface RT very attractive. I have a 13 inch macbook pro from 2009 with an 8gb ram upgrade. So the system runs fine except the battery is dying and it's heavy. Now the Surface RT has a very attractive price tag and can do most of what I want to do, and has a great battery life and is light. Sounds perfect? Well the Surface Pro has a 1080p display, and has a stylus but has terrible battery life. The RT processor is unimpressive just 100mhz faster than my nexus 7, and the 2gb ram won't be enough for all my web browsing.

So why am I going to wait? My macbook pro despite the weight and battery runs fine and the 8gb ram is great. For me the perfect surface would be one with a better processor like possibly the tegra 4 line that's coming out soon and significantly more ram, which I expect to come in the next versions. The lack of a 1080p is almost a deal breaker and the stylus might turn out to be quite useful for taking notes and not a gimmick.

So even though I am tempted to go out and get myself a new shiny surface RT, and I shall wait until the product is compelling enough to feel like an upgrade.

denzilla

Dec 27, 2012
Visit site
Agreed. Its simply not worth the price at this point. Messed around with one over the weekend and the screen is terrible. I don't care what technical reasons MS is throwing around as to why they cheaped out on the resolution, it sucks period.

msdugn

Nov 19, 2012
Visit site
RT is great for the price. If does far more than a comparable iPad. A keyboard and real MS Office is a killer set of features.

But if you need a real laptop (not just an ultrabook-wanna-be, or a iReading Device to play Angry Birds), then yes, get yourself an ultrabook.

ninjaap

Dec 10, 2008
Visit site
With technology you are usually better off waiting as long as possible before purchasing a device.