Lumia 1020 backlight wont turn off, camera issues

purevieweve

Apr 23, 2014
Visit site
I am a technician in real life. It has always been my job to figure out what is wrong with things and fix them. I have learned in my experience that no one actually knows any better, if I took it to a repair shop, they would just be stumped instead of me. Unfortunately, troubleshooting is a recorded memory of chasing a rabbit down a hole.

purevieweve

Apr 23, 2014
Visit site
..that being said, I think I am just going to put a piece of black tape over the light and wait for news of a software patch or virus. Everything else works. It does seem odd that when I do the factory reset it still says "Lumia Black" on one screen, when the phone came with "Lumia Amber," but it's probably not worth the trouble of trying to re-flash it with virgin software from Nokia suite.

offthahorseceo

Apr 23, 2014
Visit site
thats because factory reset doesnt wipe it to "from the factory" condition. It simply wipes it to "fresh install" status

For example if you had a windows 7 computer you updated to windows 8, then reinstalled windows 8, youd still have a windows 8 computer but with a fresh install if that makes sense.

New devices ARE coming with lumia black from the factory

Im starting to think the Black update caused this as well. my fiance had auto-update turned on. Is it possible to downgrade to amber?

Rashid Munir

Apr 29, 2014
Visit site