Why is my Nokia Lumia 1520 Battery Depleting?

JDsLumia

Oct 16, 2014
Visit site
So I am having an issue with my Nokia Lumia 1520 and its battery. There are some days I unplug it at 100% and within 20-30minutes it has gone down to 80%, typically it is pretty hot during these moments. But most days however, no matter what i do it drains 8%-10% and hour even if I let it sit there. I uninstalled facebook messenger, I don't have whatsapp, and I have limited other background tasks. At one point I even turned off Cortana, and even though the standby time increased, it really didn't make that much of a difference. I am really hoping that this is a hardware defect or it will be fixed with a software update solution. In the mean time did anyone else solve this issue? Hopefully someone can help me. Other than this crazy battery issue, I love this phone. This phone will be a gift from heaven if this battery problem can be solved.

LuvMeSomeWP

Apr 4, 2014
Visit site
Something is stuck running in the background probably.
Go to Battery Saver and see which app is using the most power - likely the culprit.

Try a soft reset. Hold power and volume-down until it restarts to the Nokia splash screen. This is a temp solution.

Ultimately, this battery draining/heating issue appeared to stop for me after a hard reset essentially - I used Nokia Care to install Cyan. Restored from backup and all seems good for the past month.

Donny James

Jun 13, 2013
Visit site
Screen brightness maybe, set it to automatic and adjust brightness in settings to low. Also don't let IE run in the background. As a test.

sschevy010

Jun 19, 2013
Visit site
Really don't think its screen brightness.. I'd check battery saver like other post stated... I have my 1520 screen brightness on high at all times and i can get 23 hours out of battery of my normal use... never had to plug phone in for at least 18 hours from unplugging it... I have always kept ontop my battery saver

phelme

Oct 6, 2011
Visit site