My first 2 weeks with the Lumia 720 (a review)

Yipcanjo

Jul 29, 2011
Visit site
As a bit of background, I’ve been a Windows Phone user since November 2010 – or shortly after the initial launch. I’ve since owned the LG Optimus 7, the Lumia 900, the Lumia 920, and now the Lumia 720. I have some experience in the WP7 and WP8 worlds.

“Downgrading” from the Lumia 920 to the Lumia 720 wasn’t necessarily a planned decision on my part. My co-worker and I both acquired the 920 at launch time, and have experienced a myriad of issues ever since. I’ve gone through 1 repair and 3 handset swaps – all of which experienced the “battery drain” issue that is well documented on Nokia’s Support forums. My co-worker swapped his 920 as well, but both have suffered from the battery drain problems. He’s currently looking to migrate back to the iPhone.

When looking for a reasonable handset to migrate from the Lumia 920, the WP8 world seemed relatively small – and nearly everything felt like too significant of a downgrade. I eventually resigned myself to bumping down to the lower resolution screens (800 x 480), and likely smaller on-board memory, but with the capability to add a MicroSD card, which is nice. Not many cameras can truly match the 920 – especially in low-light conditions – so that was a tough act to follow. One thing that I didn’t mind “bumping down from” is the weight. The 920 always felt too heavy to me, which is odd since my previous phone – the Lumia 900 – didn’t bother me at all. To each his own, I guess.

When it all washed out, the Lumia 720 seemed like the right mix of a beautiful build, expandable storage, a nice camera + low-light capability, and most of what I truly “needed” from my mobile handset.

Here’s what I’ve really liked about the Lumia 720 so far…

• Very stylish (I chose the Matte Red, which looks beautiful!)
  • Lightweight without feeling cheap
  • Appears to be very durable
  • Incredible battery life