Nokia Lumia 730 & 735 User Reviews

Muessig

Moderator Team Leader
Sep 30, 2012
Visit site
If you get hands on to one, share it here!

If you have seen anyone else do it online and want opinions from the community - share it here!

gamesticker

Sep 4, 2014
Visit site
Lumia 730: 2 weeks detailed user review

Friends. I kept waiting for WPCentral's review of Lumia 730, and then I decided to write one of my own. I'm using my Lumia 730 for about 2 weeks now and I want to post a 'user' review for it. This review is not going to compare it with the zillion other devices out there. Instead, I'll focus on how it is like to use Lumia 730 on a day to day basis, as a user.

My Background

I work for a mobile app/games studio so I use a lot of devices. I frequently use various mid and high end devices as my daily driver for weeks, though this is my first time with any Lumia or WP device. I have a soft corner for mid-rangers as I believe that great mobile experience should not cost an arm and a leg. Hence I purchased Lumia 730 as my personal phone as it hits all the right notes, atleast on paper. Read ahead to see how it performs in practice.

Design and Build Quality

Positives:
I was dazzled from the moment I opened the box, 730 looks stunning. Thanks to it's rounded (side) edges, 730 is very comfortable to hold in one hand. It feels very light for it's size. Even though it's not a unibody, it feels very steady while holding. I can't help but praise it's design because I've not seen a more beautiful mid-ranger. It feels much much better in person than it looks in pics.

Minor Annoyances:
  • As top/bottom corners are cut flat, they sometimes dig into your palms when you hold it one handed.
  • The inner body creaks/move slightly when connecting headphone or power jack, giving away the unibody feel.

Negatives:
None.

Display and Touch

Positives:
  • Brightness and contrast are very good. I can easily use the phone in sunlight.