Welcome to the Windows Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!

Global Posts
    272 Global Posts
    Anyone in here using an unlocked Lumia 800 (rm-801) on AT&T's network? I would like to know how it works on AT&T (data reception - H+, 3g, edge, call signal). Please provide your location as well. Thanks
    Developer

I've been using an unlocked 800 on At&t for a couple months. Working fine. What do you mean rm801? I use it mostly on WiFi being out in the sticks with edge service. But edge is faster than I expected. Occasionally H shows up in the status bar for hspa+. Voice quality is vg.

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Board Express

My WP App: Walk-Run-Bike-Drive - GPS Routing Tracking Mapping
    My Win8 App: Route Planner 8

Global Posts
    272 Global Posts
    Thanks for the input. It's nice to hear from someone that's satisfied without the H+ data connection.

I've been doing quite a bit of research about the different variants of the Lumia 800. Apparently, the rm-801 (Europe, Asia) supports HSDPA 900 / 1900 / 2100 while the rm-819 supports HSDPA 850 (AT&T's H+) / 900 / 1900 / 2100. I hope this all make sense.
    Mod and Ambassador Team Emeritus

Global Posts
    7,164 Global Posts
    I am using my 800 in at&t no issues with it at all. Call quality is good I get between 3 and 4 MBPS on HSPA no + though. On WP7 thats not bad for data speeds. I live in Fort Worth, Texas.

Have the unlocked international version. And yes, I have had problems on AT&T with 3G/HSDPA. As I understand it, the international version only has one of the two main 3G bands that AT&T uses. In places where I normally have 3-4 bars of 3G on my Focus, I would have ~1 bar on my Lumia, toggling between that and EDGE (which drains the battery quite quickly!)

I wish this wasn't the case, as I really wanted to start using the 800 as my main device...

Global Posts
    272 Global Posts