Welcome to the Windows Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Like Tree13Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by jab2980 View Post
    And all 3 posts were the factual and helpful to those who come here for answers instead of speculation.
    Apparently not, since Wyn6 actually posted proof that he did know what he was talking about in response to your snippy remark...

Global Posts
    2,819 Global Posts
    First of all, I am not an expert, however the current IMS wifi-calling is not the same as the original UMA (like my wife has on her BBerry) nor the Kineto version (I have on my Android phone). I believe that the IMS is a software only addition. I am told by T-Mo reps that the BBerry 9900 is no long "old school UMA" (which allowed hand-offs) but is also IMS. Theoretically, it is possible to do a software upgrade to a phone that would allow it to work over the current IMS system. When I purchased my Moto Defy, wifi-calling (Kineto) was preinstalled. But several Android devices received it as a OTA upgrade. Also, I know of at least one person who ported it over to his Nexus, and as far as I know, that phone never got it officially.

And... with all due respect to T-Mo reps, I have been told stuff by them in the past -- in good faith mind you -- that turned out to be not true. Such as: "The Moto Defy does not have wifi-calling and won't get it. I just did the official course on the device." (Wifi-calling was already on the phone). "None of the other Android phones can get wifi-calling OTA. It has to come installed." (Then almost all of them got it OTA). So, why don't we keep our minds open? And... an eye on the Developer's forum?

Global Posts
    175 Global Posts