T-mobile's wifi calling

eternalemb

Nov 13, 2012
Visit site
I'm a t-mobile rep...trust me, no WiFi calling on the 810. I happen to be the Windows Phone rep in my store and have had the 810 for about a month (before it launched) and have attended trainings for the Nokia and HTC devices hosted by Microsoft. No UMA. Sorry. Seems weird considering how much we (t-mobile) push WiFi calling as a differentiating factor among our competitors, but that's how it is at the moment...

CaFe88

Jun 28, 2012
Visit site
i work for t-mobile and own the nokia lumia 810 and no there no support at the moment nor has there ever been wifi-calling on windows phone unfortunately! adding the feature wont do nothing for you if the phone doesnt support it.

scrannel

Nov 28, 2012
Visit site
First of all, I am not an expert, however the current IMS wifi-calling is not the same as the original UMA (like my wife has on her BBerry) nor the Kineto version (I have on my Android phone). I believe that the IMS is a software only addition. I am told by T-Mo reps that the BBerry 9900 is no long "old school UMA" (which allowed hand-offs) but is also IMS. Theoretically, it is possible to do a software upgrade to a phone that would allow it to work over the current IMS system. When I purchased my Moto Defy, wifi-calling (Kineto) was preinstalled. But several Android devices received it as a OTA upgrade. Also, I know of at least one person who ported it over to his Nexus, and as far as I know, that phone never got it officially.