Root Access WP8

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve Girard

Feb 15, 2013
Visit site
Hello all. I am new to windows phone. Have always used either android or iPhone. My androids were always rooted & modded, and my iPhones were always jailbroken & modded.
Is there such a thing on WP? I have spent hours on google & Bing and haven't found anything except something about a wp7 root toolkit, which obviously won't help me since I'm on wp8.
this phone has so much potential, Microsoft has it locked up too tightly.

thanks in advance for your answers/input

Florin Anghel

Banned
Jan 9, 2013
Visit site
Why do you need it rooted? For Android people do that because it runs like sh*t with all the heavy firmwares made by Samsung, HTC, Sony, Motorola etc. and that's why they use custom firmware to make the smartphone run a little more smoother. And on iPhone only those who don't want to buy apps jailbrake their phone.
I don't see any reason to do the same on WP8, maybe only just for fun but you gain nothing in return.

rockstarzzz

Apr 3, 2012
Visit site
Re: root access?

No there is thankfully no root or jailbreak for WP8 and I wish it stays that way.

If you have a student developer account (Free) or normal developer account $99/year, you can officially unlock the phone for development.

iamtim

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
And on iPhone only those who don't want to buy apps jailbrake their phone.

That's a gross assumption. There are many, many good apps available to purchase in Cydia. Most people who jailbreak their iPhones do it for customizations and control which Apple won't put in iOS or allow in the App Store.

philpeeps

Dec 15, 2007
Visit site
That's a gross assumption. There are many, many good apps available to purchase in Cydia. Most people who jailbreak their iPhones do it for customizations and control which Apple won't put in iOS or allow in the App Store.