NFC Wallet Payments - Why Not?

Sario27

Jan 4, 2013
Visit site
I'm pretty new to the NFC world as this is my first phone with it, but I don't understand how our Lumia 810 can have an NFC chip and not allow payments. Is this a hardware issue, or just more firmware problems for our poor Lumia 810?

adrian1338

Jan 20, 2013
Visit site
This is a VERY GOOD question. I have the same problems with my 920.
People tell me the provider has to support it. its the same **** as with data sense.
MS didnt learn. As soon as the provider is allowed to interfere - they will and cause the customer a pain in the backside!

Guzzler3

May 4, 2012
Visit site
I was just researching this. From Microsoft: Wallet FAQ
Credit or debit cards – Purchase apps and games in the Windows Phone Store, or simply keep track of your card account info. And if your service provider and phone support it, you can even set up credit or debit cards to make NFC purchases in stores. (This requires a special, secure SIM card.)

Now, the question is Does T-mobile have a "Secure SIM card"? I'm still researching.

More info:
Why can't I make NFC transactions with my phone?
While every Windows Phone 8 has a Wallet Hub, not all support NFC transactions. The easiest way to check and see if your phone supports NFC transactions is to go to your Wallet settings. In Wallet, tap More
basic-icon-ellipses.png
, and then tap Settings+PIN. If you don't see an option to turn on "NFC transactions," then your phone doesn't support it.
At the moment, only a small number of mobile operators offer phones that support this feature. However, we're working hard to get additional mobile operators on board, and we expect the number of Windows Phones that support NFC transactions to grow.

Guzzler3

May 4, 2012
Visit site
OK, more digging.