Is there a quick way to put phone on silent?

vizagdude

Dec 29, 2009
Visit site
Just use the volume rocker and on the top right you would see the "bell" symbol.. just tap on it and it will go to vibrate, tap again... it will be in ring. You can toggle between them with just a tap.

Works in Lock Screen mode as well.

Hypetrak

Nov 8, 2012
Visit site
This is how I've been doing it.

While screen is Locked>Hit lock button>hit volume button> then gives you option to switch to vibrate.

Hope there's a better way!

anon(157335)

Oct 4, 2012
Visit site
Is there a quick way to put your phone on silent or vibrate when going into a meeting etc.

I'm new to WP, but the way I've been doing it is by pressing the power button to get to the lock screen (of the screen is dark), then pressing up or down on one of the volume buttons. The current volume appears on the screen; you can then hold down the volume down button and the phone will go to silent mode at 0, or you can tap where it says "ring" on the top right corner. Tapping the "ring" icon repeatedly will toggle sound on and off.

Landsharkk

Oct 6, 2012
Visit site
I'm new to WP, but the way I've been doing it is by pressing the power button to get to the lock screen (of the screen is dark), then pressing up or down on one of the volume buttons. The current volume appears on the screen; you can then hold down the volume down button and the phone will go to silent mode at 0, or you can tap where it says "ring" on the top right corner. Tapping the "ring" icon repeatedly will toggle sound on and off.

There's now way to set a WP8 device to 'silent' using the volume buttons and the volume drop-down that appears. When you turn the volume to '0' it automatically puts the phone on 'vibrate'.

You have to go into the settings menu and turn vibrate 'off', at which point turning the volume to '0' will put the phone in silent.