New to WP8 (and this forum), few questions

rr373

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Hi,

I am new to WP8 (and this forum), coming from Android world (3+ years of Hero and DesireHD) to try out Lumia 920. Its only been couple of hours, wanted to check few things.

1. how to display battery % as live tile?
2. is there a weather app that gets displayed in lock screen?
3. the "pin to start" menu for my google mail is NOT working. all new apps like fb, linkedin am able to do a pin to start, but not on google mail.
4. Is there a fast way (short cut) to change the Sound settings, from Normal -> Vibrate -> Silent mode?
5. What is the best way to track data usage? is there a live tile? I am in EE (4G) network but with a 1G download limit. Would like to make sure I dont hit the threshold soon.

Since its been only few hours, am yet to explore the OS completely. To be honest, am still getting used to the new OS (3+ years of android usage, makes you feel used to do things in a "certain" way). Personally speaking, most of the apps I own in android are there in WP8, sky news, TOI, NDTV, facebook, twitter, imdb, chess, cricinfo, bloomberg, netflix, AB for my kid etc. I do miss iPlayer, but end of day, i can fall back on my nexus 7 to watch.Yes, I also own Nexus 7, so have best of both the offerings :)

Cheers.

Ali Babba

Nov 9, 2012
Visit site
Hi,

I am new to WP8 (and this forum), coming from Android world (3+ years of Hero and DesireHD) to try out Lumia 920. Its only been couple of hours, wanted to check few things.

1. how to display battery % as live tile?
2. is there a weather app that gets displayed in lock screen?
3. the "pin to start" menu for my google mail is NOT working. all new apps like fb, linkedin am able to do a pin to start, but not on google mail.
4. Is there a fast way (short cut) to change the Sound settings, from Normal -> Vibrate -> Silent mode?