Switched from iPhone 3GS to 920 - 2 days later...

C s G

Nov 25, 2012
Visit site
I'll be going to the shop for an exchange. Dead pixel, hopefully they have new stock so I can get it exchanged today.

I'm liking the phone and I'll most likely be sticking to it, but I have some questions on my experience.

1. Babysitting on data - I hated when iOS did that. I appreciate if it advice me against using data for something (ie. upload high quality photos to SkyDrive, downloading large apps, downloading maps for offline use), but I do not want the OS to force me to use WiFi. I can manage my data usage and since my LTE is much faster than my WiFi as well, I'd much rather use my data. Is there any way to go around it?
  2. Video scrubbing - I haven't tried it on video files, but for YouTube videos, I can only forward/reverse the video by pre-determined intervals. I can't imagine this not being an available feature, am I doing it wrongly?
  3. Top bar status - Cellular and WiFi signal, battery bar; is there any way to make it always show without needing to tap the top?
  4. Battery percentage - I understand there's the Battery Level for WP8 app, but is there any way to enable the display of percentage on the top bar?
  5. Tagging - so... I don't use Facebook, Twitter or any other social networking websites. I can tag my photos after they are uploaded to SkyDrive, but it doesn't show up in contacts' albums in the People hub. Any way to enable that?
  6. Customize lock screen - Over at the newbie tips thread (http://forums.windowscentral.com/windows-phone-8/204483-wp8-newbie-tips.html#post1776173), msdugn posted about customizing lock screen with apps. I followed his instructions but do not see the option ?Open this app to let it make changes?. This is what my page looks like - imgur: the simple image sharer