iPhone to Nokia 920 switch... So far, so good

scubus

Jan 6, 2013
Visit site
First, a little about me. I used to work for an Apple developer. I have been using Macs since 1985 and enjoy them. I am not anti-any other platform, but if I am being honest, it would take an awful big shift to get me to move away from Macs at home. I don't get into mine is better than yours, and I am always willing to look at new things. I have had an iPhone in pocket since the first day of the first iPhone and have seen no reason to switch. I used an Android in there for a bit along side the iPhone although I am much more well versed with the iOS.

This is my first thread here. I know there are a few other iPhone to Windows Phone threads, but I figured a new review might deserve a new thread. Feel free to move it as necessary and go easy on me if I committed a faux pas here.

Okay, for those interested, after a full day with the Windows 8 phone here are my impressions:

First of all, AT&T moved my data from the iPhone to the Nokia. No issues at all. iCal hasn't fared so well but Google Calendars and contacts made the move without issue.

The Nokia 920 is a solid phone. It feels solid and I like that, but it comes with a bit more heft than my iPhone. However, for some peopel the weight is an issue. I thought about the HTC phone (and Best Buy has them for $1 right now!) but the Nokia comes with 32 GB of memory.

The OS itself is slick, but it feels a little bit like it is still unpolished. Considering that Android and Apple have a huge headstart, it is not too bad, but it is rough around the edges.