Buying films/tv shows?

MadsTimm

Jan 31, 2013
Visit site
Hi all,

Apologies if this question has been asked before but I'm new to WP8 and have recently bought a Lumia 920 (UK). I've always been an iPhone user so was used to downloading films/tv series through iTunes. However, when I go into the Windows store or XBox store I can't see any options to purchase video content. Am I just missing something or don't MIcrosoft have a solution for this yet?

If they haven't - is there anywhere else I can buy films/tv shows that I can then stream through the phone?

Thanks,
M

MadsTimm

Jan 31, 2013
Visit site
Is there a good alternative solution (website or app) where I can buy films/tv and playback through the windows phone? Don't really want to rely on ripping DVD's and all the sites I've googled look suspect ...

Blkacesvf41

Nov 22, 2012
Visit site
I'm assuming there's no Netflix as a alternative for you guys in the UK. Until Microsoft improves this, Netflix is a life saver here.

MadsTimm

Jan 31, 2013
Visit site
Yep, we have Netflix but you can only stream on that right, not download? Was looking for a place to buy stuff to watch on the commute as I don't get enough data/decent coverage on the train to stream

Thanks for the repies!

Blkacesvf41

Nov 22, 2012
Visit site
@Mads
Yes, only streaming. Don't know what your data allowance is but it goes fast when Netflixing. I was smart, I guess, to keep my unlimited data plan with Verizon when I bought my 822.

tissotti

Oct 26, 2011
Visit site
Personally just use Netflix here in Sweden on Lumia 920, but has MS officially acknowledged the need of some kind of video service on WP? Meaning do we know they are making one.

astraith

Apr 18, 2011
Visit site
Yep, we have Netflix but you can only stream on that right, not download? Was looking for a place to buy stuff to watch on the commute as I don't get enough data/decent coverage on the train to streamThanks for the repies!