Repair experience on Lumia 920

poit57

Aug 8, 2014
Visit site
So far I am 0 for 2 on successfully repairing Lumia 920's. I replaced a broken digitizer on my first 920 last year, and last week, I opened my current phone to bend the contact points for the camera flash because the light wouldn't come on. I've been repairing broken iPhones for several years and didn't think this should be a problem.

On both phones, I was able to take care of the issue in question, but it seems the simple act of removing the outer shell of the phone somehow causes the flex cable containing the power, camera and volume buttons to malfunction.

On my first phone, the volume up button acted like it was stuck. I could barely boot past the flash programming screen (power + volume up at boot), and when I did, I could not use the back button on my phone because the volume ribbon was always displayed at the top of my screen. All the back button would do was exit the volume ribbon, which would immediately pop back up on my screen.

On my current phone (a used eBay purchase), I didn't even disconnect anything after opening the phone, but after reassembly, the power button and camera button no longer function.

For both phones, I ended up replacing the flex cable, but they both continued to have the same issues with the same buttons on each respective phone. It seems that there is some kind of short or break in the circuitry of the mainboard, but I don't understand how that could occur on the most recent phone.

Has anyone else ever experienced this or have any ideas how this issue could be resolved? I don't know how the repairs could have been performed any differently as to not cause the issues I'm experiencing. I ended up selling my first phone for parts, but I am really hoping my current phone can be salvaged.

Viracocha

Dec 11, 2012
Visit site
Yep. If you look at this thread, it will have more info:

http://forums.windowscentral.com/no...lume-up-camera-button-rocker-doesnt-work.html