My HD7 and my HTC Amaze, can't let go

fifthGear

Oct 6, 2011
Visit site
I have a problem. It's seriously inconvenient, and occasionally disruptive. I carry two phones. Several times a day I swap my SIM between the phones. Both phones are large and heavy, which makes them uncomfortable to carry in my pants pocket.

I'm a WebOS vet. Phone envy gave me the itch to switch. In Sept I bought an HD7. First I was meh on WP7. Slowly I grew used to WP7 usage flow, Mango released, and Little-by-little I fell in love. ...but I still had phone envy. HTC's Amaze (Android) would soon launch. Bought it on release day (in Oct) planing to migrate my mobile life to it. Nearly two month later I still carry both phones.

Each has different strengths. Android's fun: many settings and configs to play with and fun games. The phone has an amazing camera, excellent music audio, about 40GB storage (with my 32GB microSD card) is now filled with music. OTOH disjointed user experience -- poorly designed for productivity. WP7's Productive: well integrated/unified user experience allows me to get things done quickly. OTOH few settings and configs to play with, many apps missing, some web sites I frequent don't work, and no Flash. The HD7's music audio is poor with almost constant GSM noise through headphones, limited storage, mediocre camera. I dislike having to use Zune.

I'd prefer to stop carrying the Amaze (don't want to be an Android sheep). Last couple of weeks I've been pushing how long I can go without swapping the SIM into the Amaze. However, I want my music, my Android-only apps/web sites, and Flash. Right now I feel that my only solution is to wait to see what new Windows Phone devices become available (for better audio and more storage), hope that my apps get ported and web sites open to Windows Phone. The camera isn't super important to me since I rarely use it (though better camera would be nice).

Reflexx

Dec 30, 2010
Visit site