Why the iPhone 6 Camera Beats the 1020

Status
Not open for further replies.

thesachd

Banned
Sep 30, 2014
Visit site
To start off I would just like to say that I hold no ill will against Windows Phone in the time that I have tried it I have realised that it is one of the most polished experiences a mobile platform can offer.

With that said I am the kind of guy that loves photography, I am by no means an expert nor am I the kind of guy that can operate a DSLR properly but I know quite a bit about photography and how cameras work.

I was in the market to get a camera, a P&S to be more exact and I stumbled upon some alternatives: your average smartphone.

Prior to this I had owned an iPhone 4, it had a revolutionary mobile sensor for it's time but it came nowhere near a point and shoot and obviously couldn't best a DSLR.

But the internet was filled with posts about mobile cameras getting better and better and then finally....I came across a phone that was marketed as a "DSLR" alternative.

So I went online searched up some devices, found that the best camera sensors we're on Android, Windows Phone and iOS devices(and maybe some other OSes).

I'm not a tech savvy guy so please bear with me. I got a Nexus 5 and 1020 from Ebay and have been using both these devices for a few months now. I just bought an iPhone 6 last week and it absolutely blows away both of them in the camera department.

And now you might ask...how?

The reason being that while the 1020 had a 41 Megapixel camera it was tooo slow, a key part in photography while my Nexus 5 had jumpy autofocus as well(possible hardware defect) this made it hard for me to capture moving subjects especially at nighttime.

Since the time I've bought an iPhone I have gone to many different places to see how it's camera compares with my other devices.

I'm going to leave out my Nexus 5 because it would blur too many shots on many occassions.