640: Budget Phone Durability Champion

N_LaRUE

Apr 3, 2013
Visit site
Re: 640 beats the iPhone

As someone who actually did freelance, contract quality control for a couple of steel manufacturing plants, you don't have to get those details out for my benefit. I could probably teach classes. Lord, I've had too many specialties in my life. It was fun to use the mass spectrometer on my lunch one time. ;)

The derail express seems to have arrived. I'll stop.

Only a small derail. :)

Interesting. I'm an electrical engineer. I have experience in steel, coal, mining, process, oil and gas and reverse osmosis salt water plants. I probably wouldn't be able to teach a class but I know enough to be dangerous as one of managers used to say. :p

N_LaRUE

Apr 3, 2013
Visit site

Ha. The 640 is $30. There's no reason to pay $850 for an iPhone,

Now if only I could get the 640 for $30 in Europe... that's not used and not shipped over from the US...

As for getting an iPhone over a 640, there's various reasons why people buy a phone. From personal preference to certain apps, friends, etc.

There are lot more expensive phones than an iPhone...

Steve Adams

Banned
Nov 29, 2013
Visit site

iPhones are notoriously fragile. Sometime try to take notice of how many iPhones you see around that are not in an Otterbox AND do not have a cracked screen. There aren't many...

I always notice this. Any iPhone that's not in a armour case is pretty well shattered. Or bent. My son has had 3 iphones and I have replaced them all because of shattered screens. You fart on them the wrong way and they will bend or break.

DracCusS

Apr 6, 2016
Visit site

I was running as fast as I could to catch a bus (i didnt catch up to it though... huehue) and my Lumia 535 with a case on fell out of my pocket. It hit the ground hard, bounced to a nearby wall, and then again back to me. I just picked it up and it didn't have a scratch on it. Dat **** is durable!

Timbre70

Jul 10, 2014
Visit site