4G Reception

ZombieBacchus

Nov 16, 2011
Visit site
Anyone having any issues with very low 4G reception on the Focus S? I am in Boston and limping along with 1 bar and very slow internet. My coworker who sits right next to me has an iphone 4 and he has 4 bars and speedy internet. Anyone seeing this on their Focus S? This is really irritating me. Thanks!

aimfire72

Nov 10, 2011
Visit site
Yup, my reception on this phone is also bad compared to iPhone 4S and Samsung Galaxy S2 phones. Using same sim card in all of them.

kltye

Nov 18, 2011
Visit site
I'm in the Chicagoland area, and while I'm not having major signal strength issues, the data connection is highly unstable - it will simply stop working for a couple of minutes (e.g. IE will say page cannot be displayed, apps that require data connection will time out, etc). I compared page loading with a friend's original Focus and it was fine, while my Focus S would timeout. I've never used AT&T before and just thought it was a typical AT&T issue until I compared phones. Anyone else seeing this?

dlrohm

Nov 18, 2011
Visit site
My 4G reception is fine, and I live in the Boston area as well. I take the commuter rail into Boston and my signal level is good.

ZombieBacchus

Nov 16, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for all your feedback on this. Perhaps there is some faulty hardware out there? I have never had any issues with cell reception in Boston before this phone. My camera button is also super sensitive which doesnt seem to impact many people. I will visit an AT&T this weekend to see if I can test it against one of their floor models.

trakman

Nov 16, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for all your feedback on this. Perhaps there is some faulty hardware out there? I have never had any issues with cell reception in Boston before this phone. My camera button is also super sensitive which doesnt seem to impact many people. I will visit an AT&T this weekend to see if I can test it against one of their floor models.