Is it safe to RESET Focus with Mango installed?

cognus

Feb 14, 2012
Visit site
guys I am brand new to this phone and OS - currently using Android, just got the Focus. It has the 7.5/Mango update, but I'm not sure about the firmware. I want to eradicate the former user's data. If I Reset the phone, will it harm the 7.5 update? I should also say it has a 32GB SD married to it.

tried searching this but I guess I don't even know enough to phrase the search right at this point :)

thx
C

jlw17

Nov 30, 2010
Visit site
guys I am brand new to this phone and OS - currently using Android, just got the Focus. It has the 7.5/Mango update, but I'm not sure about the firmware. I want to eradicate the former user's data. If I Reset the phone, will it harm the 7.5 update? I should also say it has a 32GB SD married to it.

tried searching this but I guess I don't even know enough to phrase the search right at this point :)

thx
C
Resetting the phone to factory settings will not harm the mango update. It will still be mango after the reset. You should be able to reset it with no problems. If you want to keep the 32 gb card working than you must reset the phone while the card is inserted. Good luck.
these are the steps I would take.
Note: These steps will wipe all data from the phone and set it back to factory default settings. Be sure to backup your data on the phone before performing these steps.

1. Press and hold the Camera, Volume Down, and Power buttons simultaneously.

2. Release Power when the phone vibrates, but continue to hold down Camera and Volume Down.

3. Release Camera and Volume Down when the Format prompt is displayed on screen.

4. Follow the on screen instructions.

cognus

Feb 14, 2012
Visit site
:p I guess I'll do it the menu way since I have not yet figured out the buttons!! lol

and why does the camera keep coming on for seemingly no reason?? is there a way to shut it OFF until I really really want to use it? [sorry for the piggyback post....]

Dave Blake