New user with a couple of questions.

anon(516601)

Apr 20, 2011
Visit site
Hi, my name is Mark and I'm new to Windows Phone OS7 and have a HTC Trophy. Firstly I'd like to say that this is the best touch screen OS that I've ever used, also being a slightly older cell phone user I really appreciate the big icons and super easy and efficient usage.

I have a couple of questions about the operating system:

1. In my Live mail and Google mail accounts there is an "as items arrive" option. Is this a "Push" option or does it constantly connect to the account using battery life and data?

2. Is there a way to search the applications that I've downloaded to my phone?

3. Are there any tips for minimizing battery and data usage while out and about?

Many thanks, Mark.

Rich Edmonds

PC Editor
Dec 13, 2010
Visit site
Hi Mark! Welcome to wpcentral, glad to have you here.

1. You are correct, "as items arrive" is indeed push synchronisation and it will eat up your battery (but not by much if you're a light user and only use push for one account).

2. Not as of yet, coming in Mango (update later this year) :) Check out our MIX'11 coverage for more info.

3. We have a post on this for you to read :)

Hope that helps!

jimski

Dec 11, 2010
Visit site
You are correct, "as items arrive" is indeed push synchronisation and it will eat up your battery (but not by much if you're a light user and only use push for one account).

Wondering about this. As Microsoft tries to maintain a constant connection to your phone to support push notifications/live tiles anyway, how much more energy is being expended to push one, or two email accounts. Probably less than if you did a force sync every 15, 30 or 60 minutes. Now, if you are getting 100+ messages a day per account, doesn't really matter what you are using, its going to burn battery. But if you only receive 5-10 messages I believe push may be more efficient. No proof to back it up. Just using some logic. Now WM was a different story.