Honest Critique of Samsung Focus Coming From iPhone 4

JohnMKeynes

Jul 25, 2011
Visit site
My motive to try out the Windows Phone 7 was because I loved the UI interface when playing around with it in the store. I have to say also is that I loved my iPhone 4. I used it for everything. However I had been using the iPhone OS for about three years now. Just seriously was sick of looking at the same old screen interface.

I just choose to try it now since there was so much buzz around WP7 mango and how it was going to bring up to par with iOS 4. So I figured I sell my iPhone 4 and get maximum value before the iPhone 5 comes out and buy a used Samsung Focus. Then just wait it out and see what Mango devices come out.

I purchased my Samsung Focus in mind condition for $160 off of Craigslist(which is a story in itself).

I played around with the phone almost all day. I currently have the the 7390 build. I'll just go ahead and provide quick summary:

-Display is simply stunning! I'm coming from an iPhone 4 and still was surprised how rich the colors looked. It's not as sharp as the iPhone 4 retina display but that's a tradeoff which in my opinion only matters when you're reading text like on forums such as these.

- OS goes without saying is breathe of fresh air. There is nothing there that I miss coming from iOS. Again this is on a non-Mango build. I know it's just one day use but the buzz around WP7 was how it was missing so many features. I simply have not come across any as of yet.

- Apps is somewhat of a mixed bag. Some apps like Youtube by Liveworm just shows what kind of apps can be developed on this OS and tools. Most of the vital apps I used on iOS 4 are there but with time and popularity hopefully this will improve. Again, there isn't one important app that's missing on my WP7.