Index Letters in Applications List

AggieWP7

Dec 5, 2011
Visit site
Not sure what to call it, but all of a sudden I have the "Index" letters to search contacts showing on my Applications List screen....they weren't there yesterday...not sure what I did (I'm a WP7 newbie) to get them there...but I would prefer them off...can anybody point me to the setting?

Thanks.

TheWeeBear

Jan 9, 2011
Visit site
There's no setting AggieWP7, they appear when you install a lot of apps.

You can't switch them off I'm afraid.

I find they are really quite helpful zipping through all my apps. :)

CobaltDragon

Nov 14, 2011
Visit site
I think they show up only after you have a certain number of apps installed, to make it easier to quickly get to an app far down on the list once you have a bunch installed.

I don't think there is any way to remove them (aside from uninstalling some apps), but I agree it'd be nice if you could turn it off.

fifthGear

Oct 6, 2011
Visit site
Not sure what to call it, but all of a sudden I have the "Index" letters to search contacts showing on my Applications List screen....they weren't there yesterday...not sure what I did (I'm a WP7 newbie) to get them there...but I would prefer them off...can anybody point me to the setting?

Thanks.

Being new perhaps you're not aware that this sort of list with those letter headings is a jump list (You'll find another in the contacts list of your 'People' hub). You can touch any letter heading to bring up an alphabet that allows you to jump to the letter of your choice in the app list.

chasvs

Nov 30, 2011
Visit site
I find this very helpful and wish I could turn it on regardless of how many apps I have. Kind if wish I could set it as the Default screen for the app list screen so I could just click the letter I need....

AggieWP7

Dec 5, 2011
Visit site
Thanks all for the quick responses...I'm sure I'll grow to like it. I really like the OS overall...just a few thing I need to get used to...

Thanks again

MadMup