Welcome to the Windows Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!

Global Posts
    7 Global Posts
    I'm new to WP7, but there appears to be no database apps available. Is there no Handbase or MobileDB style database apps? What prevents them from existing?

Thanks!

If I correctly understand what a Database app is I think there are no limitations to make one.
    You do have excell on a WP7 so there's your DB managment and you can do most stuff there.
    An app could be done to sync the DB between devices if though.
    What do you expect from a DB app?
    Developer

You may check the app DataHub: DataHub in the US Marketplace

Or Database: Database in the US Marketplace

Quote Originally Posted by wcalhoun View Post
    What prevents them from existing?
    It seems, somewhat surprisingly, that managing data on smartphones is quite a niche application: Only few people seem to do it in any serious way.

Contrast that with the considerable complexity of a good smartphone database app, and the still low market share of WP7.

By the way: If you look at the reviews of those two apps it becomes clear very quickly that there are tons and *tons* of features that one can reasonably wish for in a database app. It just never ends...

Global Posts
    366 Global Posts
    DB app pickings are pretty slim, but I understand the point about not many people using db apps on a phone. It would be nice if MS would support MS Access on mobile devices.

Global Posts
    294 Global Posts
    Slim? It's slimmer than Blackberry. Never thought I'd see the day.

Global Posts
    361 Global Posts
    The problem persists even in the Win 8 Metro environemnt. WinRT doesn't have it's own database, and doesn't even have support for talking to server databases (no System.Data.* classes). You wind up having to write your app to talk to a web service that then talks to the database.