Welcome to the Windows Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. twint7787's Avatar
    Member

    Posts
    196 Posts
    Global Posts
    242 Global Posts
       #1  
    I recently added a friend on Facebook and I haven't done so in a loooong time. I chose the close friend option and now her statuses and photos pop up on my me tile. Why? And how do I fix this? Sorry looking for a quick answer while I'm at work guys .
  2. #2  
    I haven't noticed this on my "Me" tile. Are you sure that you didn't pin her tile by accident? Only thing that shows up on my tile are the notifications.
  3. Verkunder's Avatar
    Member

    Posts
    342 Posts
    #3  
    When I "starred" my girlfriend on Facebook, her activity shows up on my Me tile. Perhaps go to Facebook and set them to Acquaintance.
  4. ninjaap's Avatar
    Member

    Posts
    2,454 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,466 Global Posts
    #4  
    Interesting. I wonder how long has this feature been on our phones?
  5. blehblehbleh's Avatar
    Member

    Posts
    571 Posts
    #5  
    Hmm that's interesting that the close friend's option would do that. Definitely on Facebook's end and their API's
  6. twint7787's Avatar
    Member

    Posts
    196 Posts
    Global Posts
    242 Global Posts
       #6  
    I definitely did not pin her tile to the start screen lol. Yeah it has to be something on facebooks end I'll try switching our friend status when I get home....i hope she doesn't notice :-P
  7. travis_valkyrie's Avatar
    Member

    Posts
    287 Posts
    Global Posts
    296 Global Posts
    #7  
    Its because of the groups list under Friends section on the left column. I have the "Close Friends" list with 20 of them so it would be identical to my groups on my phone. Although, the close friends list also gives you notifications about your friends activities on facebook, this will also push through your phone, and will show under Me tile.
  8. ninjaap's Avatar
    Member

    Posts
    2,454 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,466 Global Posts
    #8  
    Quote Originally Posted by travis_valkyrie View Post
    Its because of the groups list under Friends section on the left column. I have the "Close Friends" list with 20 of them so it would be identical to my groups on my phone. Although, the close friends list also gives you notifications about your friends activities on facebook, this will also push through your phone, and will show under Me tile.
    I think I'm going to try this and group some friends under the close friends list.
  9. #9  
    Hmm another feature we never knew about.
  10. PG2G's Avatar
    Member

    Posts
    453 Posts
    #10  
    Its not really a feature. The Me tile shows all of your notifications, Facebook now notifies you when close friends update status
  11. ninjaap's Avatar
    Member

    Posts
    2,454 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,466 Global Posts
    #11  
    Quote Originally Posted by PG2G View Post
    Its not really a feature. The Me tile shows all of your notifications, Facebook now notifies you when close friends update status
    Well, whether its defined as a feature or not, I think it's a nice addition. I added 3 people I care most about. Pretty cool.
  12. twint7787's Avatar
    Member

    Posts
    196 Posts
    Global Posts
    242 Global Posts
       #12  
    yeah I finally got a chance to look at Facebook and there is the option to notify you when a close friend posts something so I turned it off. I don't see why you would have that on if you have those people in a group on your phone. You would be getting an update on your tile and that groups tile. Either way thanks guys
  13. woodbane's Avatar
    Member

    Posts
    332 Posts
    Global Posts
    346 Global Posts
    #13  
    Sorry to resurrect this thread but I've just started getting status updates on the Me Tile from certain Facebook friends and I never had this activity before. I've also checked in Facebook and I don't have anybody starred as a "Close Friend".

    So what dictates this behavior?

Posting Permissions